Keep the Happy Hour & Ditch the Calories

The weekend is here and after a long week many of us just want to let loose for a night.  It really bothers me when I eat well and exercise all week but somehow I let one happy hour with friends screw up a weeks worth of discipline.  I am sure that I am not alone on this one so I thought I should share some of my suggested low calorie happy hour cocktails!  For those of you that haven’t got the memo yet- LIQUOR HAS CALORIES.

Let’s start with the basics for the newbies. According to WebMD:

  • 80-proof vodka (40% alcohol; the most common type) has 64 calories per 1oz
  • 86-proof vodka (43% alcohol) has 70 calories/1 oz
  • 90-proof vodka (45% alcohol) has 73 calories/1 oz
  • 100-proof vodka (50% alcohol) has 82 calories/1 oz

So basically the rule of thumb is that the stronger the liquor the more calories per oz. and stick to simple drinks!

Here are some of my happy hour suggestions so you can drink on budget and cut down on calories:

Martini (2.5 oz): 160

Gin and Tonic (4 oz): 103

Red/White wine (5 oz) : 120

Light beer (12 oz): 95-136

Mimosa (4 oz): 75

Rum and Diet Coke (8 oz): 100

Vodka and any low-cal mixer ( diet soda and light juices): under 200

Your favorite liquor on the rocks 🙂

Last but not least………………SHOTS!

Have fun and most importantly drink responsibly….

