The B-Word

 

BEANS!!!

 

I love beans! Thankfully, beans are one of the few foods that actually love me back.  Beans, also known as legumes, are a great cost friendly and healthy food that can be easily incorporated into anyone’s diet.  Don’t believe me? Here are some ways that beans can benefit your health:

  • Lower cholesterol
  • Reduce risk of heart disease
  • Prevent constipation
  • Improve blood glucose level of diabetics
  • regulate the colon
  • reduce risk of cancer
  • prevent bowel problems

Like I said it is SO easy to introduce beans into your diet.  Here are my 5 favorite ways to eat beans:

1. Black Bean Burger

Yes a burger!  If you are vegetarian you may already be hip to bean burgers.  My favorite bean burger is the MorningStar Farms® Chipotle Black Bean Burger.  Before you say you hate veggie burgers I beg you to try this one.  It is so easy to make and tastes amazing. When I don’t eat it as a burger I prepare the patty by cutting it up and using it as a meat replacement in a quesadilla, burrito or my rice.

2. Soup

It’s winter and this season I am obsessed with making soup.  I make a big pot of soup (of course loaded with beans) every Sunday for my lunch during the week.  Soup is easy to make. I literally combine and cook down all of my unused items into a pot along with broth and voila….soup!

This weekend I will post (show a picture) of my soup creation of the week.

3. Rice and Beans

I can eat rice and beans every day.  My favorite way to eat rice and beans is alongside salmon.   But really I love rice and beans any way its served!

4. Bean Salad

Bean Salad is nice to have because you can eat it by itself, put it on top of a leafy salad or use it as a dip!

5. Hummus

Hummus is typically  made of chickpeas.  So if you aren’t too into beans as the highlight of your meal its easy to use hummus as a dip.  You can even use it as a spread on your sandwich or pita.

Looking for a Bean filled recipe?? Check out the Bean Bible

 

 

