Teeza’s Spiced Butternut & Sweet Potato Soup

Every week I make a big batch of soup that I eat for lunch during the week.  I must say I think my soups are the bomb.  More importantly though they are easy, filling and nutritious.  So I decided that every Friday I will post a weekly soup recipe- Enjoy!

*Disclaimer* I am not professional so my measurements are pretty rough and the seasonings are all to taste

 

Ingredients:

1 large butternut Squash

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 Piece of Ginger minced

1 Onion

3 Tbsp Olive Oil

2 Tbsp butter (optional)

2 Cloves Garlic

6 cups of Broth

Thai Chili paste

Cayenne Pepper

Brown sugar to taste

Salt

Pepper

Cinnamon

All Spice

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 . Cut Sweet Potatoes and Butternut Squash into ~1 inch cubes and coat with 2 Tbsps Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper, Cinnamon and All Spice.  Roast the Butternut Squash and Sweet Potatoes in the oven on a cookie sheet for 40 minutes, flipping them over 20 min into it roasting.
  2. Chop onions, ginger and mince garlic.  Put 1 Tbsp Olive oil in a large pot and let it heat before putting in onions, ginger and garlic in the pot, cooking until they are soft and translucent.
  3. Pour butternut squash, sweet potatoes and broth into the pot and  Continue heating the soup until it comes to a boil.
  4. Once it boils puree the soup in a food processor, it should be a creamy consistency.
  5. Pour the puree back into the pot add butter if you like and season the soup to your liking….and you are DONE

This makes about 4 servings (1.5 cup per serving) that have ~350 calories.

