Mushroom Kale Rice Bowl

This recipe is amazing…I repeat AMAZING! 

I took a break from soups last week and made myself this really yummy rice dish instead.  I got the recipe from this website Babble  If I had a better camera I swear it’d look just like their picture.

My AWESOME picture…

So before I get to the recipe I want to share with you all the REAL reasons why this recipe is the amazing… and it’s all in the name:

Mushrooms

  • Great source for nutrients like vitamin D, riboflavin, iron,  potassium and more.
  • Boosts Immune system
  • Low in calories and fat free
  • Antioxidants
  • Good for your bladder
  • Boosts Metabolism

Kale

  • Helps lower cholesterol
  • Lowers risk for cancer
  • Detoxification
  • Anti inflammatory benefits
  • Good source of fiber

Mushroom Kale Rice Bowl
serves 4

4 cups cooked brown rice
4 cups Peanut Ginger Kale <click the link to get that recipe
2 portobello mushrooms, sliced into strips
1 tsp tamari or soy sauce
1 Tbsp safflower oil
salt/pepper for mushrooms
2 Tbsp peanuts
1/4 cup fresh cilantro

To Make:

1. Prepare the Spicy Peanut Ginger Kale. Set aside.
2. Cook your brown rice or heat pre-cooked rice packets – about 4 cups.
3. In a skillet, over high heat, add the safflower oil. When oil is hot, add in the sliced mushrooms. Saute until tender. Both sides. Add in the 1 tsp of tamari. Salt and pepper the mushrooms to taste. With the pan still hot, add in some of the kale salad and toss gently with the mushrooms.
4. Assemble the bowl or bowls. Add a bottom layer of rice. Then top with a generous portion of kale salad. Then top off with the kale mushroom skillet mixture. Garnish with peanuts and fresh cilantro. Serve warm.

