16 Bean Soup

I have a new obsession! First of all shame on me for never cooking beans outside of a can until a few weeks ago.  I associate the hard beans in a bag with 4th grade science projects rather than actual food.  Shame on me…I am hoping that I am not the only person who is skeptical of fresh beans and prefers canned beans.  If not, you may not be as excited about this soup recipe as I am.

Goya has a variety of bagged beans that they offer and they can be used to make some really easy, healthy, tasty and filling soups!  I was feeling adventurous so I decided I wanted to get the 16 bean soup bag…yes SIXTEEN.   I felt challenged by the number of beans and decided I wanted to give it a try.

Recipe:

16 Bean Soup Mix

2 Stalks of Celery

6 cups of broth

1 onion

2 cloves garlic

1 green pepper

1 can of diced tomatoes

2 Bay Leafs

A bunch of thyme  (just kept putting more and more in!)

Seasoned to desired taste:  red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, seasoning salt, garlic powder

Instuructions:

Rinse your beans off until the water runs clear.  Then chop up all of the veggies and sautee them in the soup pot.  Once the veggies have softened and browned a bit add your beans, tomatoes, broth, bay leafs and thyme.    Bring the soup to a boil and season!  Once your soup has boiled, cover the pot and turn the stove to a low heat and continue cooking your soup for another 4 hours ( or until the beans are soft).

FINISHED! (this is a fool proof soup recipe)

Calories: ~350

Servings: 5 -6 servings of 2 cups each

Sorry!  There is no picture with my results since I ate it all before snapping a picture on my phone 😦 Below I found an images that looked like my version of the 16 bean soup mix

 

