Dark Chocolate Chia Pudding

20131115-085803.jpg

Chia pudding! This is my first time experimenting with chia seeds and I must say I’m very happy with the final product and how easy it is to make! I plan on making other variations of this in the future but I wanted to start off by sharing a basic recipe that anyone can build off of.

In case you are wondering why in the world someone would want to eat chia seeds. According to the Huffington Post some benefits of chia seeds are:

-combats diabetes
-good source of fiber
-good source of omega 3
– great for bone health
-aids in weight loss

Checkout the link for more…

Now on to how to make this pudding !

Ingredients:

1/4 cup chia seeds
1 cup almond milk
2 tbsp Hershey’s special dark cocoa
2 packets of Splenda
Optional toppings- pomegranate seeds and chocolate chip morsels

Directions:

Use a large cup or bowl (I used my single serve smoothie container so I can easily blend in my Ninja)

1.Mix chia seed, almond milk, and cocoa in a cup.
2. For about 10 minutes periodically stir the mixture until it is well mixed.
3. Cover the mixture and let sit in the refrigerator for 2 hours or overnight. *i did this before work and completed the last steps when I got home*
4. After letting the mixture sit, it should now be pudding like! If you like the texture of the seeds like this you do not need to blend them, but I like a smoother pudding.
5.Transfer the pudding Ito a blender and blend until smooth for about 3 minutes.
6. (Optional) Top with pomegranate seeds and some chocolate chips!

Serves 2
Calories: 160 per serving without topping

