Zucchini Corn Muffins

20131116-193158.jpg

I wanted to try my hand at making a healthier corn recipe.  So I thought it’d be interesting to do a zucchini variation since squash is something mild in flavor.  In case you are wondering, the  zucchini does not change taste or texture of the muffin from your average corn muffin. There is no noticeable difference-exactly how I envisioned it all coming together!  I adapted this recipe from Katherine’s Corner and by doing so I cut out over 100 calories per serving! This means you can one muffin or TWO…and I say have two 🙂  If you are not cutting back try doing it Katherine’s way-I tried her version substituting with almond milk and coconut oil and it was delish.  That being said, since I tried her original recipe and my “healthy version” I can confidently say that this version is definitely not missing a beat.  The only difference is my version seems a little sweeter so I’d suggest cutting back on the sugar if you do not like a sweeter cornbread.

Enjoy.

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cups  Wheat flour

2/3 Cup sugar *If you don’t like a sweeter cornbread you can cut back on the sugar (1/2 cup)*

1/2 Cup cornmeal (fine grind)

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. Baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 Cup almond milk

1 Cup zucchini (cleaned, seeds removed and finely chopped) one large zucchini

1 Egg

1/3 Cup unsweetened apple sauce

1 1/2 Tbsp. coconut oil (melted)

1/2 Cup +1/2 tbsp+ (heaping) 1/2 tsp Greek yogurt *sorry for the horrible conversion*

(optional-thin slices of sharp cheddar cheese)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

1. Stir and combine all DRY ingredients: wheat flour, sugar, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

2. In another bowl whisk together WET ingredients: almond milk, zucchini, egg, coconut oil, applesauce and Greek yogurt.

3. Make a “well” in the dry mixture and then add the wet mixture, whisking to combine.

4.  Using a 12 count muffin pan, pour batter into the pan.

5. (Optional) Thinly slice cheddar cheese as desired and place a small piece on top of each muffin.

5. Place on center rack in your oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until golden and the muffins pass the toothpick/knife test.

Serves 12, a serving is one muffin.

Nutritional Facts *does not include cheddar cheese* (via My Fitness Pal)

20131116-193528.jpg

