Cuban Pot Roast

20131218-130308.jpg

Once again, I have been going Pinterest crazy.  So since I brought meat back into my diet I wanted to try my had at this chuck pot roast.  It was really east to make and if you have a slow cooker/crockpot then I’m sure it will be even easier.  I did not prepare this with rice but I know if would be really good with rice on the side.  Instead I ate this with a spoonful of guacamole on the side…don’t knock it until you try it!

This is recipe I modified from I Breathe I’m Hungry. The main difference between the two recipes is that I used nore “fresh” ingredients rather than dried.  I also, used less meat than in the recipe- about 2.3 lbs chuck rather than the original recommendation to use 2.5-3lbs.  My version made about 8 servings!

Ingredients

2.3 lb boneless chuck roast
1/2 cup Trader Joe’s salsa verde
1 Habanero pepper
1 Jalapeno pepper
1 cup/can of diced tomatoes
1 chopped onion
1 tbsp minced garlic
1/2 cup red and yellow peppers cut into strips
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp ground coriander
1 tsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
Salt and pepper

Drections

1. Generously season the roast with salt and pepper.

2. Sear in a hot pan until browned on all sides. drain excess fat out of the pot.

3. Add the salsa verde, peppers, onions, garlic, and tomatoes to the pan you seared the meat in. Deglaze and bring to a boil.

4. salt, cumin, coriander, oregano, chili powder, black pepper, and apple cider vinegar and stir.

5. Cook for 4-6hrs on medium- medium low heat (or until the meat is tender). Shred the meat and serve with your choice of toppings.

Approximate nutrition info (Based on 2.5-3lb chuck that serves 10) per serving: 271 calories, 19g fat, 2g net carbs, 20g protein

