Almond Carrot Muffins

20140114-212416.jpg

Hi everyone!

I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays and is excited to take on the new year.

As I mentioned before I’m trying to test out lower carb and/or gluten free recipes for little while. Not sure if this will be a permanent shift in content but I’m interested to see what can be made!

So I experimented with almond meal… This was a successful experiment (I did experiment a major mishap trying to make pancakes lol). I may end up tweaking the recipe in the future by mixing different flours but for now I really like this recipe because it’s quick, doesn’t require many ingredients (or ones you may not already have at home), and makes a satisfying breakfast. I’ll put it out there these muffins were a pleasant surprise… really moist and cake like but not very sweet like cake. I’m sure if I add more honey or sugar I would be tempted to throw frosting on these. I adapted the recipe from a Pinterest post I saw Β on SohudAlex’s blog (I’m a Pinterest addict at the moment) from this blog . The nutrition breakdown I put does not include the optional ingredients- however if you are on caught up on calories and such I say… Add them in!

Let me know if you give this a go! And comment with future suggestions for recipes πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

2 cups almond meal
2 eggs
1 cup grated carrot
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsp honey
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (or an oil of your choice *if you do this double the amount of honey this recipe calls for*)
1/2 tsp baking soda
(Optional- 1/4 cup raisins)
(Optional- 1/2 tsp ground ginger)

Directions:

1. Grate carrots, I used about 2 carrots
2. In one bowl mix all dry ingredients (baking soda, almond meal, and spices)
3. In a small bowl mix all wet ingredients ( eggs, honey, and apple sauce)
4. Combine all ingredient and mix with a spoon, adding the carrots after combined.
5. Bake at 350 for 25-30 min

Makes 12 muffins

Nutrition break down for 1 muffin:
Calories: 147
Carbs: 5.4
Total Fat: 10.9
“Bad” or Saturated fat: 0.9
Protein: 5.8

