Sweet Corn Fritters

20140303-170201.jpg

It’s a snow day, so I had some time to experiment.  As a student I enjoy a good meal but I also try to stick to a budget. So, two goals of mine are to post recipes that 1) incorporate easy to find/common ingredients, and 2) are affordable.  This recipe is EASY and I paired it with a salad for lunch.  Honestly, I wanted to make hush puppies but thought If I am going to consume a variation of fried dough I should try to make it nutritious.  So I made up this simple fritter recipe to satisfy the craving.  These fritters were SO light, and the whole corn kernels provided a nice snap with each bite 🙂    I think the fritters would also be delicious topped with sour cream or avocado.

Ingredients

1 cup sweet corn kernel (frozen)

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1 egg

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 cup flour (I used wheat)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 c vegetable oil

Directions
1. In a bowl mix together flour, corn (make sure the corn is thawed), onion, seasonings, and baking powder.

2. In another bowl mix eggs, cottage cheese, and cilantro

3. Combine all ingredients until mixed

4. Heat pan with oil

5. cook fritters for about 5 minutes on each side (total 10 min per batch)

DONE!

Serves 5 (3 fritters): Calories 188, Fat 11.5g, Carbs 17.5g, Protein 5.2g

